Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Any managers out there that feel they cant win with staff

Any manager like me that works full time, is kind and helpful to everyone...staff...parents..children. Is a bit of a pushover and feel that in particularly with staff cant win no matter what I do......

I work 5 full days a week and do a lot in my own time...from planning to getting better qualified and just beginning to feel like I said.

I also believe that our jobs are changing fast and that some staff are unwilling to change. I dont personal believe in qualifications are important but as regards ratios they are.

More and more being put on small groups like ours....

Pensions, living wage, staff qualifications, dealing with staff, appraisals, mentoring etc........

Sorry to moan ........

I've been running this business for 5 years now. Built the team got them through quals & educated them bout children being individuals, parents too and they are a great team.

I feel I have done a rather good job. I have to say that cos no one else will.

my motivation has all come from myself and had hoped that some of that would rub off. For some of team it has but there are 1 or 2 that constantly need pushing and will only do if there is tangible reward at end (money).

I do mostly like what I do but at present feel a little lost. Don't really have anything on development plan that shows moving forward other just than keeping up with legislative changes.

There has been an expansion of nursery market in my area with all of us running low occupancy. Someone has got to give in. I still have some fight in me so going to keep going.

Thank you for allowing me my rant. And I accept management can be really lonely cos you can't tell everyone all your fears. They would think me mad!

But told you some.

• Like 6

There are so many of us that feel this way at the moment. I don't really have any advice - or I would be taking it myself!