Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Graduate Leader

Rea

Our manager said last night she has no interest in continuing to graduate leader and it got me to wondering what we would do.

We decided to save as much money as we can to enable us to make everyone redundant should we be forced to close!

I don't want to seem dense but I never understand exactly what they mean by "graduate leader". I'm a graduate but not in an Ealy Years subject. So do I count as a graduate leader or not?

There is no way that I am going to do a second degree now and there is no way anybody at our setting will even do a first degree so is that the end of all of us?

I am sure someone will come with the definitive answer, but I always understood graduate leader to be a qualified teacher or EYPS ..

as to a setting not having one...I too think it may depend on who is in power at the time.. so many setting could end up closing as they are unable to pay them sufficiently, many reached the level and moved on to schools etc where they can get a pay worth the time taken to gain the qualifications..

i don't think it is a "must" now but our county (Worcestershire) are using the employment of a EYP or graduate as part of our quality rating which determines whether we can continue to receive NEF. As long as we continue to score well in the other criteria we will be safe!

Jo

I thought it was first changed to only be for full daycare settings and then was shelved. wasn't it a Labour thing?

if it is coming in then we will be closing as none of us will be doing a degree now.

If they want us to employ such qualified staff they need to give us the funds to enable us to do so OR allow us to charge fees

to ALL and enable us to do so.

• Like 3

I actually think that they actually want to close 'sessional/pre-school/church hall' type settings :(