Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Deposit

JellyJo

Hi

I'm new here so I would like to apologise if this has already been discussed (couldn't find anything).

Anyway - I am a manager of a small pack away pre-school. We run on 98% capacity at the moment (will be less from September obviously).

We have started charging £25 refundable deposit from all newly registered families in order to secure their place. The decision was made by the committee in order to avoid 'ghost' places never being taken up. We had a few cases when a family has been on the list for January or April, we kept the place booked in Autumn and turned people away and then - the place hasn't been filled as the family changed their mind!

The £25 is not for financial gain or to cover costs of admin around the cancellation, but to make people realise that if they register for the place they should really do it when they intend to take it not just to keep their options open.

So far nobody objected paying a deposit as this seems to be a common practice. BUT - we have been told by our Children's Link Development Officer that we are not allowed to charge deposit (or anything for that matter) from funded children at all.

My question is - have you had similar problem? Do you take deposit from your fully funded families? Surely it should be one rule for all - but then we're back to square one!

Any advice will be greatly appretiated.

Thanks

Jo

Hi Jo, welcome to the forum :D:D

We charge a £10 deposit when they register their interest. If they change their mind we refund it, if they dont, we keep the money and give them a T-shirt when they start with us. I checked with our EY dept. a few years ago when someone else had been told they couldnt do it and were told it was up to us and because it was a standard charge we could argue that its not discriminatory.

I cant think of any other profession that has its finances dictated by outside agencies, it drives me mad, we're hardly rich are we?!