Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nursery v Pre-school

Hi folks!

I really hope I'm going to explain this clearly and without saying anything controversial!

I wondered if anyone can give me some advice, guidance or words of wisdom to help with a particularly challenging parent of a child who hasn't even started with us!

I'm an Early Years Teacher at a charity-run pre-school.  We're based in a primary school classroom and work in partnership with them although under our own committee.  We offer full days, morning, or lunch/afternoons for children and open term time.  I'm extremely proud of what we do and passionate about meeting the needs of all the children (who we take from 2) and consider their care and education equally....

The parents in question is moving her just 2 year old from a day nursery to attend us 5 days a week.  So far she has raised the following issues...

Why don't we administer Calpol instead of sending poorly children home.  She doesn't wish her child to be the only one napping so can we arrange for all children to sleep at the same time..  Can we do weekly updates face to face in the evening?  Will all family events (trip, nativity, etc) be held at the weekend to accommodate working parents.  "At nursery they..."

I've said to her that she might find the changes difficult at first until she understands our practices and procedures of what we do....
But now she has said “I don’t understand why you think it will be different, in my opinion both are regulated by OFSTED and follow the same EYFS....”

so my thoughts are that fundamentally nurseries ARE different from preschools. I know the term ‘childcare’ is controversial- we ALL do so much more than childcare— but here we’ve always claimed that we’re not childcare, we’re not there for the convenience of parents, and certainly won’t keep an ill child at preschool because mum can’t leave work...
I just can’t get my head and thoughts around what I want to say..