Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nursery manager responsibilities, help please?!

At the nursery I own we currently have a manager and an admin person. I think that we are office heavy and that many of the admin tasks can, and indeed should be carried out by the nursery manager. Please can you let me know what your responsibilities as nursery managers are? The admin person currently deals with bookings and inputing them onto the system, invoices and invoice queries, funding and headcount, phone enquiries etc. She also deals with staff holidays and puts the staff hours onto a spreadsheet for the accountant. Does this sound like the duties of most nursery managers??

I appreciate your feedback. (I am also involved in the nursery, my role is to plan future numbers and 'drive' new initiatives). Thanks!!!

Speaking as a retired manager, I would have LOVED having someone to help with Admin! It was all done in my own time and I didn't get paid for it. That's not the way it was initially planned, but over 25 years the paperwork side of things increased so I found I was spending all my free time working on admin, sometimes till after 10 at night. There are some jobs that only the manager can do, of course, but many tasks could be given to someone in a dedicated role of admin.

If you didn't have an admin, when would your manager have the paid time to do all that side of things?

You don't say how large your nursery is? That will make a difference to the amount of admin that needs to be done.

• Like 5