Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Ever feel like we (PVIs) are fighting a losing battle?

What ???? I watched this on the TV this morning and must admit to screaming at the television. :angry: The next thing they will be suggesting is that all parents must have a degree before giving birth? Now there's a thought! As a manager of a PVI setting with a committee in name only, I also feel that our days are numbered. I have a foundation degree but am paid less than a cleaner or gardener. I am not prepared to carry out anymore higher education. The impact on my family and home life was enormous and I am not prepared to put them or me through that again. The scope of what we are now expected to do to support our families is increasing daily but without the recognition of what we actually do. It all seems very negative at the moment. :( PS. Sorry for the rant.

• Like 4

I only skimmed through it but what on earth happened to every PVI setting having a graduate leader by 2015? Because of this directive I began a foundation degree, followed by topping up to BA (Hons) then EYP. The year after I was awarded EYP the standards were changed, then cut. Next they changed the name to EYT but said we couldn't transfer to that. Now, within a few short years, someone has probably been paid huge amounts of money to create another report that says PVI settings need a graduate leader...I'm getting a feeling of deja vu and it makes me SO CROSS!

• Like 1

so if they are in school it's ok to have apprentices looking after them but if they are in a nursery then we need to have a degree....doesn't quite add up does it! and which twit would suggest that two year olds do not need high levels of care but in the other article we are being told that we need to increase their levels of speech (so we ignore and speak to them at the same time??????)