Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

The Number 5 , Number Formation

ok wise ones,I am completely flummoxed , having found a fab leaflet which i can adapt for my preschool parents , it is includes formation for number writing , having checked it , the formation patern for the number 5 is start with straight line down follow round an then lift pencil from paper to put on its hat - line across the top.

I don't remember being taught this way nor my cvhildren and i have not done this with children i have helped, I am now worrying i have been doing wrong all this time . OH says it's to stop bad habits but he does not do it that way,I am going to ask the Reception teacher but wanted to get your thoughts and comments :wub:

Guest ShelleyT

I am a Reception teacher and that is EXACTLY what I teach for formation of number 5. Down first, then around and then put the hat on the top. Otherwise the children simply write an s, and the corner at the top doesn't look right!

Lashes, I don't think you will have damaged any children for life, so don't have any sleepless nights. I was taught when doing my teacher training to always get the children to form 5 in two strokes as you describe. It is so it looks different to an 's' as it is easy to make it too round on the top 'corner' if done the other way. I am sure, however, that we have all cheated when we have been trying to write quickly!!

I'm a Reception teacher and we have been practicing 5 this week, I was getting them to put the hat on afterwards as you described (I remember being taught this in Reception myself!), but saw that my TA was doing it in one motion as that was the way she had been taught, so we had to stop and decide which way we were going to do it! So I think the most important thing is consistency in your setting.

Rosie

• Like 1

Thankyou wise ones - i shall make sure that i teach the correct way and it also means that i have to tell the OH he is right :o