Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Key Person Title

Jackie A.

In our setting, we have always used the term "Key Worker" and have never really given much thought to the actual wording. However I have been told recently by an EY advisor that we should be using "Key Person". The new framework also refers to the term "Key Person".

Is there a right or wrong answer? Is it just somehow a sexism issue as the word 'person' is often used when one is unsure of male or female? It just seems more impersonal?

I'm only asking as I am compiling my report format (I'm a Nursery teacher in a large primary school) and our Head has questioned me as she feels uncomfortable with the term "Key Person". Just want to get it right.

Thanks.

I was told it was differentiated because "key worker" tends to refer to an individual in a multi-disciplinary team who takes on the key role in liaising between the family and the other team members, often a social worker. We had to review all our paperwork to change to key person in 2008 in order to fit with the EYFS and it did take some getting used to but now it is more natural to us.

I think the term 'key worker' in the early years context used to refer to the person who collated all the observations and paperwork side of things, and as holly says, in a multi-agency team working scenario, the key worker is the person who does all the co-ordinating and so on.

The first time I heard the word 'key person' was in the book by Dorothy Selleck, Peter Elfer and Eleanor Goldschmeid. They used it to denote a more personal relationship: not just about the admin side but to built close and secure relationships with their key children and their families.

I prefer key person, but it does give me problems in the plural. Is it 'key persons' or 'key people'? :blink: