Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Pay Rise

Have pay rises for staff on our agenda for tomorrow's committee meeting. Would anyone be willing to give me a feel as to how much we should offer to show our appreciation for everything they do?

Also, do you get pay rises as a percentage of your wage or is some other formula used?

Thanks.

Well done you! I have been an assistant over a year, was supposed to have review Dec...but nothing! Supervisor asked for one after she found out cleaner at school was on more than she was....got told to see what results her appraisal said...she is still waiting..in fact a friend of mine did my job for the year before me and she was on my wage...so that makes it at least 2 years!!

I had a pay rise last January and was given the standard 3% rise. I wasn't happy with it so asked for more and to show their appreciation I got a 10% pay rise.

ppp

goodness - well done you. But as my husband says, 10% of nothing is still nothing :o

As a manager, I'm just starting to do the sums for pay rises next year we already pay more holiday entitlement than staff are entitled to, to appreciate the work that staff do in their own time

goodness - well done you. But as my husband says, 10% of nothing is still nothing :o

Oh Cait you did make me laugh out loud - that's just what my husband would say too.

I'm not having the best of weeks at the moment at work anyway, so that was had kept a smile of my face.

To return to the original question - my staff receive increases in October in line with minimum wage - those on minimum wage get whatever the new statutory pay is, and those above it also get a rise to protect the gap! We have very good adult:child ratios, the only way I could pay anyone a lot more is if we cut back on a member of staff and then shared their wages out amongst the others, not really prepared to do that. I pay them an extra hour per week for maintaining their children's folders etc. and they have statutory holiday pay.