Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

How to manage Dressing up resources at preschool?

I am currently studying towards my Early Years foundation degree. We have to look at an specific area of our preschool and compile a work based project around it. I am looking at our dressing up area but before I definitely go ahead with this topic I thought I would look to see if their is enough research available.

We currently have a rail with hangers on and a variety of princess dresses etc. We also have normal clothes and a selection of material. We have found that within a very short period of time all the resources are thrown all over the floor. This could be because we have so much stuff and the item they are after is difficult to find. Once it is all over the floor, tidying away at the end of the session becomes a regular bone of contention with staff. We have considered a smaller amount out, the whole 'less is more' but the children do have their regular favourites.

I would be really grateful if you could let me know how your dressing up area works within your setting and how you manage it.

Thanks in advance x

im not sure ours works well at all! I have a large basket...that's it! we do remove and refresh items all the time...tend to avoid the princess dresses as we just end up with issues...I manage about a week with them out and then put them all in the wash (for the next month or so!)

we did a fab project some years ago (when children were older and group was smaller) based around the princess dresses going missing....they had been stolen and the children had to work out the clues...ended up with a treasure chest of goodies arriving at the end of the week

• Like 2