Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

First Day Nerves.....

Hi, I am a newbie and am so glad to find this Forum, I will be starting my first Pre-School Leader position next week

and although v excited I am having last minute nerves xD . I have 6 years Pre-School experience and my Foundation Degree in EY but unfortunately never been allowed much involvement in planning/ decision making etc in my former setting, the Leader preferred to keep everything to herself with information given on a 'need to know basis' . I am brimming with ideas etc but don't want to upset the current staff or start on the wrong foot...... help :o

So a nice friendly meeting when everyone's had chance to settle down for the first week - look at what they've done before and discuss methods and aims.

Welcome to the forum and congratulations on your job. Looking forward to hearing from you in the future.

Concentrate on starting some good relationships with the staff and parents and see if there's anything they feel they want to change immediately

Hi lovemyduvet - (love the name) welcome to the forum and congratulations on making your first post, the first of many I hope. I am sure once you get underway you will find your nerves disappear. Take things as they come with the staff, initiate changes at a pace they can cope with and consult - you obviously know the value of that as you have been left out of the loop in your previous setting. Good communication is vital, get across your enthusiasm and commitment and I am sure you will have a winning formula. Good luck for next week. Come back on a let us all know how you are getting on.