Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Hello From A Newbie

Hi all,

My name is Tracy. Can I just say what a great web site this is. I'm not sure whether I am posting in the right place but here goes. I am currently working as a kitchen assistant/midday supervisor in a secondary school. I am interesting in working with children that have learning difficulties. I have spoken to the Government careers line and got bombarded with lots of information but nothing I could really get my teeth into. I was wondering if any one out there could give me an idea where I need to start, what courses I would need to complete. I have had no experience in this field. I am wanting to re-educate myself over the course of the next few years. I have 7 GCSE's A-C grade and a BTEC National Certificate in Business and Finance. Any help at the minute would be gratefully appreciated.

Thank you in advance

Tracy

I would ring your local authority and find out what support they're prepared to offer you. Are you interested in working in a school environment or pre-school? That might make a difference to the approach you'll take and will certainly affect the qualifications you'll need.

How many hours do you work at present? Are you able to do some volunteering in either a pre-school or school so that you can get some experience (and also find out whether this kind of job is really for you!).

Good luck - let us know how things go!

Maz

PS Welcome to the Forum - I can't think of a finer place to get information about your chosen profession. Even if some of it might make your hair curl... :o

Hi Tracy and a warm welcome from me too! I'm sure someone will be along soon who can help! :(

I'm hoping Wolfie's and my post were made at the same time - otherwise she's saying "take no notice of what Maz says..." xD:o

Maz

Thank you all for your quick response.