Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Managers and owners

I'm a manager of a pre school and I deal with the day to day running, planning etc and the owner deals with the business side and all finances.

I'm finding it difficult to do parts of my job with no access/control of finances. Eg craft supply orders, DBS checks as I can only do so much before handing it over as payment is needed (and is not always getting done)

Does anyone else have issues like this and how do you deal with it??

Is there any chance the 'owner' can give you a budget for craft/dbs checks etc, so that you have an amount for the year and can plan your expenditure?

Maybe have a sit down chat and be frank about it, as you do need clarity.

Spiral

we work a bit like this. I am the manager and I have all the lovely jobs that go with that but the committee have to approve resource and equipment orders and big amounts of money, they do the wages, DBS checks and provide us a petty cash float for shopping for snack and anything that is below £10.

It does mean sometimes that things take longer to get done but they are pretty good most of the time. We try to do things in advance to allow for the extra time it takes to get through the system so to speak.

I'm just being plain nosy now - please may I ask how much?

£110. No idea why the 10 but it covers stuff for playdough or other activities odd pack of paper, snack, drinks, cleaning stuff, wipes..

Bigger items are bought with say so of committee (me) someone buys it and gets paid back, but its not a great system, I've been tasked with buying a photocopier but a cash flow problem means I havent got the money to do it, so I cant at the moment. Our account doesnt have a bank card. Not an ideal system but it kind of works because we rarely make big purchases.

• Like 1

Think i would ask for a small float of cash and a discussion to make it more efficient.