Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

EYTS?

Trying to gather information. I have been sent an invitation to attend a meeting for prosepctive EYTS' ( starting in September), but want to know what exactly it entails? As a graduate, I could do work-based study, over a year, and this is fully funded, plus a bursary is available to cover supply. I am not sure if I have any study left in me.............so, come on folks, what would I be letting myself in for :ph34r:

I did EYP and didn't find the work load massive and I enjoyed it. I am, like Hali, confused as to where it's going now though. It keeps saying it will be equivalent to QTS and at my local uni you now have to do the skills tests for teacher training before you can start EYT, yet as far as i can understand you could only work in a school in EYFS and you wouldn't have QTS.

if anyone understands it better please let me know! There's a suggestion i should go and do EYT ITT but I don't see it gains me more than my EYPS!!

My daughter has just completed EYT she found it pretty gruelling & repeating much of what you have done & know - not sure that anyone is really asking for EYTs especially in our area, still advertising for level 3 managers ?

I am EYP and found it really beneficial to running my own setting. I would recommend it to all. It's one of those "you don't know what you don't know" moments. It really compliments all the everyday actions we do, it supports my confidence. I did not find the work for the status too gruelling infact the opposite it really highlighted all the tasks I take in my stride.

I encouraged one of team to follow the course last year so we are now awaiting her result and I have another member of my team who has been accepted onto the new EYT course starting in September. From what she tells me, it is a little different to the way I did it and yes she had to do the skills test despite getting a first class honours degree and having A level Maths!