Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Would you report this to ofsted?

I have a friend who has a 2 year old in a local nursery. She is beside herself as the nursery is understaffed, ratio's incorrect, poor hygiene and to cap it all the deputy manager walked out in tears the other day.

Rumours are rife that members of staff are unqualified and even that some lied about qualifications.

Would ofsted treat her worries seriously? She is trying to find a new setting for her child, but her choices are limited due to location etc.

She has tried to speak to management, but she feels that due to her age (she is only 20) they fob her off.

I would say yes, go ahead and inform ofsted, but she is scared in case the nursery find out who reported them.

As a nursery manager myself I think it is appalling, but I can only support my friend. Any advice please?

If she is worried about the care that her child is getting and breaches of statutory regulations then yes she should contact Ofsted - better that than some harm come to her child or anyone else's attending that setting.

• Like 1

I would say yes report to Ofsted. I am not sure but can you do this anonymously?

Although I have to say I know a setting near us was caught by a member of staff not having ordered enough lunches, they then were heard to say take the lunch away from a particular boy who could not speak (and had already started the lunch) as he would not be able to tell his parents, where as the child without a dinner could. She was horrified and walked out. To this day I do not know if it was true or not but Ofsted just phoned the manager and said was this true, she said no and the matter was dropped.

Ofsted will NOT tell the setting who has reported them. She should go ahead and report them without delay. Forget 'rumours', deal in straight facts as she knows them, rumours only muddle the waters....but she could ask that qualifications are verified , perhaps?

Edited by narnia
  • Like 1