Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Understanding the World - how do you do it?

Hey, I'm in my first year in the eyfs and am struggling a bit to get my head out of KS1 thinking.

Thinking about UW i know we need to incorporate science, history, geog, and ICT etc. How do you make sure that you cover it all? do you have ICT focus one week, history the next etc? use topic planning and do geog etc only if it fits in? I'm getting so confused and finding it really hard to fit everything in :( also do you include RE in UW or PSED?

please help me :)

I wouldn't be thinking in school subjects, the EYFS curriculum is distinct and complete - there are 3 aspects in Understanding the world, so you need to focus on the content of those, rather than trying to translate into something else. In regard to RE, I can't recall the legislation re the statutory nature of it and pre school aged children so would need to check.

Cx

It's bound to be difficult if you are new to the early years but rather than trying to separate things out think of the child and their learning more holistically.

If you look at the understanding the world developmental matters you will see the world, technology and people and communities are the headings, if you then look at what is under each heading you will gain an idea of the areas covered by this specific area.

I really dont think you should be worrying about RE, Geography history etc. . . .

Use what the children are interested in to add to their knowledge .

Hope you make sense of it all x

Nursery World (issue 2 weeks ago but probably online) had a good feature on Understanding the World. Think we were over thinking it !!

15-18th Oct. Just reading it now (well with distractions of course) I totally agree about 'over-thinking' it.