Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Difficult Child?......plz Help!

I am quite new to Childminding, started in January, but have worked in Early Years for 5 years. I look after a child (18 months) 3 days a week, 10 hours a day- they were my first clients, so have been with me since Jan. (I also have my own child 16 months, other mindees 20 months, and 3 years)

I have been growing concerned, as the child in question is making no attempt to walk or stand, basically refusing to do so- either making their legs go loose, or digging their heels in and pulling against me if i try to get them to walk. But mum&dad come telling me how much walking is happening at home, so I began to encourage it at mine, using walkers and encouraging them to walk into different rooms, and to different activities, which is where the struggle is coming from- the strength is there- they will stand holding the walker all day if I let them, but they will not move!

I thought perhaps parents were exaggerating, and have tried to encourage the child to walk at their own pace and not turning it into a battle. However, with Bank Holiday celebrations, we ended up bumping into the family, and i saw this child not just walking, but running around as confident as any other toddler!

i can't quite believe what i saw, but can't understand why they are not like that when in my care, and what could i do to encourage this?

I'm now worrying that perhaps its me, but I'm not sure where to go from here... any advice would be great, Thanks.

Welcome to the Forum Paula - what a little puzzler he is! I'm afraid I can offer no words of wisdom, except some comfort for you that now you truly know that he can - maybe you can "ignore" what happens at your house and one day he will just get up and walk. Perhaps it is just his little protest at being left by mum!

Do hope you can get some pratical advice from others who will undoubtedly come along after me.

Welcome indeed fellow Registered Childminder.