Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Waking Rope V Holding Hands What Are Your Views

Hi all I am a reception teacher of a school which is fed by a playgroup.(not under our jurisdiction) the playgroup has a newish leader who we are tring to build a relationship with. The playgroup come to us every week for PE and since the new leader they have been using a walking rope which has been fashioned with loops every so often for the children to hook their wrists into to walk to and from us. I have never seen this before and am quite shocked to see it-is it widespread use amongst Pre schools/playgroups? (reminds me of convicts chained together!) The playgroup used to come to us walking in pairs holding hands (they are not crossing roads or anything just a couple of fields between them and us and we are talking 16 children with 4 adults) which has always been fine, without issue and good practice for what they will do when they get to school. I approached the playgroup leader today asking if they will be building up to walking in pairs holding hands and he said that was my job to teach them this not theirs!!!!!! I watch the children walking holding this rope and they are pulling it and others over surely this is a health and safety issue? I know this is only a small thing but I'm so cross that these children (all coming to school in Sept) are not being trusted to walk sensibly. What are your thoughts?

Deb

How odd - I replied once and my reply just disappeared :o

Anyway - we use a 'walking rope' - it doesn't have any 'loops' - the children just hold it - I find it works very well for us........we have to cross at least two roads whenever we go out.........our walks are quite an 'event' - we all don our high vis vests and remind ourselves "we must not let go of the rope" :D

We haven't had any children being 'pulled over' - our rope has one adult at the front and another at the back and another walking in the road to the side of the children :1b