Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Learning Journeys+Confidentiality

shazzam

Hi all

We are having our appraisals this week, they're being done by chair and vice chair who have asked to see our learning journeys. i'm not feeling right about it as they are parents at the end of the day and i wouldnt dream of showing someone elses childs journey to another parent!

what do you think?

Hmmm....that's tricky! :D

I'm probably not the right person to help you as I have no experience of committee run groups :unsure: could you have a conversation with them pointing out your concerns.....if you add something about all folders being of the same 'quality' (are they?) might that 'satisfy' them?

Sure someone with better experience of committees will be along soon! :1b

What are you concerned about Shazzam? Would you have concerns about showing a learning journey to another member of staff? Your Chair and Vice Chair are in effect your employers and are responsible for all that goes on in your setting. So long as you have a clear confidentiality policy I can't see why there would be a problem, really.

Like sunnyday I'm not an expert on committee run groups, but as the owner of my group I would certainly expect to have access to learning journeys for all the children in my group, and I don't see much difference between my role and your Chair's.

I'm interested to know why they want to see them though!

• Like 1