Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Age For Children To Start Nursery 2011?

Hi

I am new to Manchester LEA this year but not sure if this is a new policy for them or all nursery providers. I understand that Manchester are to stop January intakes in nursery from september. Does anyone know the legalities behind this?

Do we admit children who have just turned 3 in September or wait until they are 3 years and 3 months and admit them gradually over the year?

I'm soryy if the above doesn't make any sense - my brain is mashed! Hoping someone may be able to help me?

Zoe

I am assuming you are a maintained setting.. and not PVI ..

cannot help but it does make a difference.. PVI can make own decisions on intakes... so will not know what is happening in a ,maintained nursery.

I'm not in Manchester but very close by. A maintained nursery near me and most I know take children who are three by Aug 31st. They do still have Jan intakes but only if there is sufficient space, so not guaranteed. I would think the Aug 31st date would apply in this case but LAs do seem to interpret rules in different ways!

Thanks all for your replies. I have found out that it is 3 years we should take them by. That means in sept we will have some children starting that are only just 3. This is not a problem but I do have concerns beacuse we are a full time nursery. The LEA have also said they want all children in by Oct 6th for census so that does not leave much time for staggered intakes and settling in!

Hi Zoe,

I know exactly the anxiety you must be facing. Having a child who is barely 36mth in a full time nursery setting can be very challenging.