Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Text Messaging

Hi all,

Need to get something off my chest!

Deep breath, a member of staff sent me a txt message saying she has hurt her back and wont be in for the rest of the week on Monday night. Am I getting old or am I the only one who does not think that this is very professional behaviour?

Your thoughts on the matter would be gratefully recieved, thank you

I don't see it as unprofessional but I can see where you're coming from. As someone who is not at all confident on the phone, I will always consider email and text before using the phone. However, I have never 'text or emailed' in sick as I always feared someone not taking my illness as true and I wanted to speak to my manager. As a manager my staff always phoned me if they were off work.

However, I did once phone at 6am and left a answer phone message as I couldn't face hearing my manager's disappointment at being understaffed - I did have gastroenteritis though!

Hi all,

Deep breath, a member of staff sent me a txt message saying she has hurt her back and wont be in for the rest of the week on Monday night. Am I getting old or am I the only one who does not think that this is very professional behaviour?

i think a phone call would be better tbh, i think a txt only in extreme circumstances -ie d + v. do you have a staff handbook etc with the correct proceedure in?

I am one who has done this, and I was manager ! and with back problem!

reason for doing it.. timing.. for me anyway, I could send a message when I was able to and know they would get it.. tried calling in past no reply leave a message and they don't check messages, somehow text was always looked at! and at 5am they really did not want the call!

also has staff do the same... did not worry me so long as they told me, was more worried about them not turning up and me not knowing. I would call them later in the day to see how they were if they had not called with an update.