Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Portfolios For Children

Hello everyone this is my first time on this site, so forgive me if I have posted in the wrong place.

I am re-organizing my porfolios for the children in the nursery - I have very limited amount of space in the nursery but my advisor sayes I have to have individual files for each child on the premises.

I have tried using a scrap book systems but informs me this is not the done thing.

I need a format for each child.

You just have to be canny and remember to take them out of the pocketed folders and fix with a treasury tag or metal binder for the parents before the child leaves , then the folders can be re-cycled :o

We use A4 ring binders with dividers for the six areas, termly reports in the front, and poly pockets for 'treasures' to slip into - again these are rebound and the files kept when the child moves on . xD

She has given me 40 A4 learning journey files to fit observations and children's work which I said I would use offsite however she said she wanted them onsite.

She has given me 40 A4 learning journey files to fit observations and children's work which I said I would use offsite however she said she wanted them onsite.

Yes I think the idea here is that they are always available to the key person, child and parent to look at and refer to. Some groups do not allow them off the premises and staff need to complete any work on them at the setting. I do allow them to go home overnight for catching up, but must be returned the following day.

we use A4 ring binders and as mentioned above recycle them however, this last leaver block we had to let some of the ring binders go as well as we had accrued so much info in them they would not fit into project folders we had previously switched them over to. But good old tescos come to the rescue with a cheap offer on ringbinders, so all replaced at very economical cost.

Hi,