Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Pre-schoolers Leaving Boooo Hooo!

hello,as many of you know,I work in a private Day nursery within a Pre-school room!!as we were discussing transfer forms today and our preschool party and final trip of the year as a sort of farewell-it actually brought a tea to my eye thinking that all my key children will have left by Septemeber a lot will be gone in June!!

As I am new to this line of work ie 8 months bt love every minute,it really makes me sad to thinkthey will all have left soon!!!

I know the children can come and go!!just wondering from those a lot more experienced,how do you manage!!

ie do you speak to children about leaving

when they have left-do you just go back to normal and get on withthings

also what have you planned for the upcoming months

ie are youhaving a graduation party

farewell trip

party??

aw sad times xxalso how are you going to be filling in transfer forms any tips thanks

Eclmmcca xx

Edited by eclmmcca

I know exactly how you feel - there are some really 'special' children that become so much part of my life I can hardly bear to 'part' with them.

I don't talk to them at all about them leaving unless they mention it - I always reassure them that I will still see them when they go to 'big school' when I'm picking up my Grandson. (I do 4 out of 5 school pick-ups for him)

We have a Teddy Bears Picnic on our last day of term!

We always get 'showered with' lovely presents and cards - I never, ever read the cards until I get home - in case they make me cry (they always do!).

We are so lucky to be part of these children's lives while they are with us and I hope we give them the best possible pre-school experience and send them off well-equiped for 'school life'.

Sunnyday