Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Lack Of Knowledge And The Eyfs

Hi everyone, I'm new to this!!!!

I was wondering if anyone could offer my advice or support on the EYFS. I'm a manager in a private day nursery struggling with the eyfs in terms of planning. I have more than 20 girls and more than half of them have or are completing an NVQ, my opinion is that they lack knowledge i gained while studing for my NNEB (I know that not all people who complete an NVQ lack knowledge).

could anyone please explain or show me how they deliver the eyfs and could anyone help me with handouts etc so i could do a training session?

Please help

Thank you for your support

Jod x :o

Welcome to the forum and congratulations on making your first post.

There'll be loads of help coming your way.

Firstly though, I'm a bit confused by your statement "I have more than 20 girls and more than half of them have or are comlpleting an NVQ" I take it by 'girls' you mean staff?

Have you had any EYFS training at all? Have the 'girls' read and understood the cards in the pack and do you have any sort of Learning Journey/Story files for the children? What are you doing at the moment as regards delivering the EYFS?

We'll be happy to help, but we need a little info if you can, about your situation.

In the 'resources' section on the left there are loads of things which may be a useful start for looking, I know Maz had done a powerpoint presentation of the 6 areas of learning, which should be in there.

Thank you for your reply.

yes, I'm sorry i do mean my staff.

I feel that the staff do not have the knowledge and the confidence to make judgements and that they do not fully understand the EYFS and child development.

All my staff have attended the EYFS but it is clear that they do not understand.