Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Messy Play Or Not !

hello,I'm just wondering what your thoughts are on on messy play!!I am a new Nursery Nurse .I have been working in a Private Day Nursery within the Pre-School room for 5 months now!!

Do you do a lot of messy play in your setings as it seems as it is a NO NO in ours!!I love to do messy play with children of this age 3-5 years old as it is a hands on experience that they particularly enjoy and engage in examples of this have been

-mash potato and food colouring by which children have created own designs

shaving foam with glitter

jelly and animals -which children have made own designs

porridge oats and scales-children have measured which is the heaviest

painting-creating 3d junk modelling

and many more!!

I have had criticism however of the cook,i get on great with my colleague but she doesn't particularly agree with it and the cook always has a go at it saying ooh the mess!!

I don't do it all the time -cut down to once a week but still they are arguing saying its too much hassle and mess-we don't have a great routine we come in have breakfast,play,focused activity,play,dinner,play,random activity,play,home

I am on my own in the afternoons as the other girl works in babies in the afternoons>I am the only one who has worked with these children all the time for 5 months so feel I do know them best so or a manager to disagree and sa what to do is annoying to the least itsjust like she wants us to have toys out all day and do activities without mess!!I mean we do a lot of other activities anyway numbers,letters,days of the week,science,creative ,outdoor games etc i just feel undermined any thoughts?!!

agree like the messy bits... my staff used to always know when I worked as the place was always a big mess to clear up... ( i was the manager!)