Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Training Preschools To Observe Children

Hi All

I am a reception class teacher. I am doing some training for my local preschools before half term on Observation. Why observation is important and how we can use it.

I want it to be relevant, but also have the difficulty that 1 or more of my preschools doesn't see much point in recording observations.

Can anyone- give me an overview of the observations you do at preschool... so I am taking this from the right point.

Just to say I did some training last year for my preschools on observations on different ways to record, why we should observe children etc.... looking for a different way to approach this.

Thanks

Lorna

Hi All

I am a reception class teacher. I am doing some training for my local preschools before half term on Observation. Why observation is important and how we can use it.

I want it to be relevant, but also have the difficulty that 1 or more of my preschools doesn't see much point in recording observations.

Can anyone- give me an overview of the observations you do at preschool... so I am taking this from the right point.

Just to say I did some training last year for my preschools on observations on different ways to record, why we should observe children etc.... looking for a different way to approach this.

Thanks

Lorna

Hi Lorna

All preschools should be doing observations now as part of the EYFS. Different preschools will all do things slightly differently though. I would get in contact with as many of their leaders as you can, to find out what they are already doing and what sort of input from you they would find helpful.

Thanks for those Cait