Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Dropped In At The Deep End

Hi, sorry for what will be a very long first post fom me lol.

I work at a pre school, I went to work as usual this morning ony for our supervisor to tell us that she has a new job and is finishing with us next friday :o

Obviously it left us all in a bit of a flap and after discussions I was asked to take over as supervisor, it is something I have always wanted to do - my dream if you want me to be soppy lol

Anyway, I have no experience of management although I have been working in childcare for 14 years (gosh that makes me feel old!) I have a level 3 btec nd, i contacted the cwc today and they have told me that is definately enough qualification to work as a supervisor.

My problem is mainly, how do I go from being one of the girls to "manageing" the other 8 staff without alienating any of them, I want to stay friends etc but I do understand that I also need to take charge when needed.

Any hints and tips, or can anyone recommend any good courses to help me with this? Also our staff appraisals are due in January and I have no clue how to appraise someone xD

Thank you in advance

Hi By the way :(

Well done for getting the job to start with.

I would suggest that you sit down with all the staff and go on the idea of leading the "team" Ask them how they think things are going and any suggestions they have to improve. Keep a record of the meeting and then listen to them and make your decisions on what they have said. Don't go in all guns blazing but very gently say that now you are in control you want to make the group better and work as an effective team.

Don't be afraid to make decisions as long as you have got the information to back up your decisions.

You can't do what sometimes happens with children when they ask "why" and adults respond "because I said so" you have to have reasons for your decisions and use your staff to the best of their potential.