Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Asked to vacate premises

BeanyBird

Hi all

I have a terrible dilemma. I have been hiring a hall for my pre-school for 18 months and it has come to light from the landlords the hall does not have the correct usage. The usage has been changed previously and I was advised it was just a letter to the planning dept. I have been waiting for confirmation that the issue has been dealt with, however I have received a letter wit 3 weeks left until the end of term, asking us to vacate the premises!!! I have over 30 children on the books for September and employ 10 staff! To say I am devastated and heartbroken is an understatement. There are no other local venues we can use as they are all taken. I have requested meetings with the landlords several times over the past 6 months to discuss the issue amongst other things but they have not met with me.

has anyone else ever experienced anything like this? The landlords are supposed to work with the community, they are the Scouts!!

Any help/advice would be appreciated........

Is it just a question of "correct usage", or that the Landlords want you out?? for other reasons.

Have you approached your local planning department directly yourself?

Have you been to your local MP's surgery?

Have you thought about going to the local press?

Try getting your LA early years involved, query with the council what the issue is, and doorstep your landlord until they speak to you. What kind of agreement do you have for using the space? Do you have a contract of any kind? Will try to think of anything else, but I'm sure some helpful replies will follow.

• Like 1

terrible situation to be in.