Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

food hygiene

Hello everyone,

I am after some advice on what other settings do about recording evidence.

What kind of things do you record e.g. fridge/freezer temp

I am new to this and I work in a preschool that only offers a snack with milk or water.

we have just started a lunch-club which parents bring in a named pack lunch for their child. we store these in our fridge and we record the temp once in the morning, we are only open for 4 hours maximum.

Any help on this will be appreciated.

Do you have some kind of checklist for e.g. cleaning of the fridge/freezer etc

do you write a commentary on how staff prepare and serve snack to the children?

Many thanks

Safer Food Better Businesses. It has diary sheets for recording temps etc. It's a bit overkill for what you are providing. There is a simpler document that covers childminders. Are you registered with local Environmental health dept? We have just done a few cooked lunches as part of our transition process and they were really helpful.

Food Hygiene Course anyone prepping food should do the course anyway. You can do it online, it's under £20. takes a couple of hours. Register with your EVO at your Town Hall.

I don't record fridge daily temp any longer, I record if it goes above 4 degs. Cuts out a little paperwork! Cleaning schedule is easy - every Friday.

I am amazed your fridge is large enough to take the children's packed lunches ours definitely isn't and they must put cool bricks inside their lunch bags. I also tell parents (not that they take much notice) not to put anything in sandwiches such as mayonnaise, or yoghurts without using these bricks and definitely no nuts, or nut products. We do not "serve" their lunch, they take it from their bags at the table as they eat it, we do not allow any food "swapping".

Gosh bet there is tons of other stuff we do, don't do etc. but really start as you mean to go on -