Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

suitability of staff form

blondie

Hi

I am a new Manager and new to the forum...

I gave similar forms out last week, the only difference was that each question said 'Have you ever been cautioned or convicted' not 'Have you been cautioned or convicted'

One new member of staff (Her son attends the Pre-School so we've known her for a while) answered no to all questions, only for her DBS to arrive the following day stating she has a caution for 'Battery' which as yet, is not spent (It was against an adult, but if you lose your temper and lash out???)

The problem I have is that she signed it as being a true declaration. (I'm very pleased it's the Easter break) This is not the sort of problem I expected to encounter ever, let alone in my first few weeks in charge. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. I don't know how I can accept the 'no' answers in relation to her husband as being true? (I am also waiting for her NI number and proof of qualifications which she has lost!! Alarm bells going off but she knows alot of people/parents.....)

Many thanks

Sue

Hi

I am a new Manager and new to the forum...

I gave similar forms out last week, the only difference was that each question said 'Have you ever been cautioned or convicted' not 'Have you been cautioned or convicted'

One new member of staff (Her son attends the Pre-School so we've known her for a while) answered no to all questions, only for her DBS to arrive the following day stating she has a caution for 'Battery' which as yet, is not spent (It was against an adult, but if you lose your temper and lash out???)