Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Staff management help needed

Can anyone help me re staff management ?

I'm quite new to the role of manager and I'm still getting used to the whole managing staff bit, I have a member of staff who, while not doing anything particularly wrong is not quite getting it right either and I don't know what I can do to help her to improve.

Staff member in question, I'll call her J, is 21 but has an older way about her, she has always worked with children but had quite a few jobs and been laid off for one reason or another.

It's difficult because the forms I inherited that the setting use for appraisals and supervision meetings are, firstly, the same and secondly, based on the job description and because she comes into work and does her job nothing gets flagged up except I'm constantly having staff say to me 'she's not done that right' or 'she's taking ages doing this'.

She uses her initiative but often at the wrong time and doesn't seem to have much in the way of common sense.

She's very slow doing absolutely everything which means she's often being carried by other staff which is causing bad feeling in the setting, I did at first wonder if she had additional needs but that appears to not be the case.

I think I need to change the way the staff are reviewed in order to start getting her to pull her socks up but I don't know how.

I think the appraisal is ok as is but the supervision meetings need something else.

I was also thinking of introducing peer observations across the whole setting so she can observe good practice one-on-one and hopefully learn from example, my deputy is worried they will cause extra work but I feel that in time as J learns from the others it should lighten the load so to speak.