Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Stress about safeguarding issue

JellyJo

Hi all,

I need to vent my frustration and share the stress with people who might actually understand - husband not helpful here.

Over last few months it's been brought to my attention that my safeguarding rep had some concerns about twins we have in our setting. These were minor, but children made comments we had to follow up with mum and put on record. It happened 3 times. You know, a chat on a side. Child said this, could you explain please and so on. Each time mum gave a satisfactory explanation. Today another comment was made by one of the twins that the safeguarding rep asked mum about. She got all defensive, laughed everything off but then proceeded to make an allegation of inappropriate sexual language used to a child... by me!!!

So now, my colleague has to investigate me (her manager) and we both know it's rubbish.

I cant be involved in it at all, as a manager I have my hands tied and have to wait for what my colleague will do.

My worry is that mum did it to distract us from looking into what's going on at home. I will be ok. Allegations are absolutely untrue and I am confident they will be dismissed. But I feel rotten.

Had to let it off my chest.

Thanks

Of course you feel rotten...and of course, your colleague is duty bound to follow all procedures to the letter. Anything else would not be in your interests,those of the setting, or, more importantly, the children. So, write down, if you haven't already, ANYTHING you recall about conversations with mum that was to do with her children's comments...and her replies to those. Your colleague needs to contact your LADO to discuss what has happened, and she must be impartial, sticking to facts only. Make it clear that this has only come to light because mum has been asked again about comments the children have made.