Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Learning scales

No we don't, but there are probably lots of people about that do, who might tell you more. I have read about them quite a bit and I think they are useful, but to me the Characteristics of Effective Learning are enough for us to assess children's involvement and, up to a point, wellbeing. Having said that I'm no expert on Leuven Scales!

• Like 1

so having had the weekend to have a look over all this lovely information (thank you all) I have a few more questions. Do you all use this as a individual tool or for groups/whole session tool?

also do you make up your own ways of recording, I understand the scales etc.. but I notice there are some references to forms that aren't here so wondered if you all just make up your own? I do have some ideas but didn't want to reinvent the wheel or make up my own if there was one I was supposed to use.

I am hoping to use the two tables that highlight the wellbeing and the involvement, now I can't see why I can't just start using this even though I haven't been to any training does anybody think there would be any problems?

I do have some concerns about making the 'right' judgement but I would imagine that is just being honest and practice

Hi Johanna, we started using it way before any training came out. I copied the grading pages, laminated them and put them on the wall. We just got used to checking it when we did an observation and used it like that, adding a sentence or two to show where the activity came on the scale.