Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

New staff

Hi all

We have been looking for a new qualified member of staff for 1 session a week, and this is proving to be very difficult- no one has replied!

One of our lovely parents has offered to work this session (unqualified) and she has helped us before on a voluntary basis. I have said yes and agreed to pay her and put her on a temporary contract for 3 months, hopefully we will find a qualified member of staff before then!

She is happy for this and said she will help wherever she can. I have agreed to pay her for the hours worked and give a contract as I feel people are often more committed when they are being paid.

I will be doing an induction pack and talking through policies etc. on her first day.

I am getting her a DBS check done. But do I need to do an interview and ask for references before giving her the temporary contract?

Also, am I right in thinking we can count her in ratios, even if she is unqualified as I have a degree and eyps and my other member of staff has level 3?

Sorry for the long post :1b

Oh dear, klc106 I would love a one-day-a-week job. Bit of a commute for me though!

I think you need to proceed in the same way as if you were recruiting a permanent member of staff, so I'd say you definitely need to do interviews and take up references.

Not sure about ratios - no doubt someone more clued up than me will be along shortly! :1b

• Like 1

you need to put those things in place before her starting and really a regular parent helper should have had these things done already, volunteers should be treated as paid staff in terms of checks, policies etc.

I personally would no employ staff for one session, it is not I feel enough to get to know the setting, the children and feel part of a team.

Also one session is probably not enough of work for someone to do, which maybe why you have not had any one come forward.

yes she can be counted in ratios

good luck