Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Early Years Teacher Status

Hi all

just asking general opinions, I didn't undertake the Early Years Professional Status for many reasons, instead I did a BA Hons Degree in Early years. I have been chatting to someone today who was talking about the Early Years Initial Teacher Training course.

I heard mixed reviews about the EYPS and wondered if anyone knew much about the EYITT? you are supposed to leave after a year with Early Years Teacher Status!

thanks

I'm currently doing EYPS and there has been a lot of discussion about what happens to us/the qualification etc when EYTS comes into play and we have been 100% assured that EYTS will be no higher/better/more accepted etc than EYPS - essentially it is a name change, you still come out with the same qualification and level 6 and you cannot go straight into teaching, you would still have to go down the route of teacher training as you would if you have EYPS. Although the word "Teacher" is in the qualification you won't actually be one...... Hope that makes sense....

Early Years Professional Status = Early Years Teacher Status = the same thing......so I've been reassured by our EYPS tutor anyway......

I was already an early years teacher when I did my EYPS, I took it because my teaching degree focussed on three year olds and up and as I wanted to run my own nursery I wanted to do EYPS to get the birth to 3 experience. Now my sister has joined me as joint manager at our nursery and she also has a teaching degree. She's now wondering if it is worth going for the EYT as essentially she already is one! but like me she wanted to get her knowledge of working with birth to three acknowledged. Not sure what she is going to do now....

I agree Madmum it is confusing!!