Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

So fed up

Devondaisy

As the title says, so fed up, and in need of advice/a good shake!

I've been running a committee pre school for over 2 years, and in many ways I love my job. However I had a meltdown just before half term, and am on the brink again, just one wek into term. I have written my resignation tonight, but not handed it in yet.

I spent a lot of time over the summer working on implementing the revised EYFS, as I know many of you did too. I didn't ask for any payment for all the hours spent, as I know budgets are tight, however, I do feel that the committee knew that work needed to be done, but just assumed I would do it all. We are also expecting Ofsted this term, which is causing me some addtional stress, as everyone is expecting outstanding and I know we are not going to get that! I spent months earlier this year working towards EYPS, which is now not worth the paper it is written on! Numbers are low, and I am under constant pressure over this, but we have a good reputation in the area and there is very little else I can do. We are in a small village and people are not prepared to travel even for good childcare.

We have taken on a lot of new children this term with additional needs, and quite simply we are struggling to cope. Some of the children need 1:1 attention or they are a danger to others, but we have limited staff so this is an issue. My commitee chair has been wonderful since my 'meltdown' and is willing to pay for extra staff to help with the children with additional needs but morale is low, and for various reasons I'm struggling to persuade the staff to help!