Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Do I Have The Right To Be Mad!

nickynooblue

Here I am sitting in the foot clinic with my darling grotty toed daughter and I happen to pick up todays sun newspaper.... They are offering a deal to Disneyland Paris for £9.50 during the week per person. I know my school will be inundated with requests for time off much the same as when they do their holiday deals. I know that these opportunities are few and far between but when we are trying so hard to raise attendance this isn't helping.

Sorry rant over!!!

Nicky

Edited by nickynooblue

I used to take my children out of school for special treats because I figured they were learning as much with me as at school. I know schools prefer high attendance and it must be infuriating as a teacher when children are absent but I always put my childrens outside experiences before school league tables, attendance tables, heads requirements or anyone elses for that matter.

I'm not good at directions so my children had to learn how to read maps, something I was taught at school but they werent. There were loads of other learning opportunities we came across too, not because I'm a pushy mom, couldnt be further from it, but just because they presented themselves in a fun way. Maybe you could ask the children who go to Disney to look for certain things or to write it up when they get back.

Wasnt there a campaign a few years ago trying to stop travel companies form upping the cost of hoildays during school holidays but the government didnt support it?

Hope your daughters foots ok :o

Edited by Rea

I know schools prefer high attendance and it must be infuriating as a teacher when children are absent but I always put my childrens outside experiences before school league tables, attendance tables, heads requirements or anyone elses for that matter.