Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Christmas Parties

klc106

We would like to organise a christmas party for our little ones at playgroup. Has anyone got any top tips for making it a success. All our children are 2yrs old.

Do you invite parents?

Do you hold during a normal playgroup session?

Do you hire 'santa'?

Do you provide each child with a little gift?

Do you provide food and drinks?

Also, what sort of games etc. do you play to fill the time?

Sorry for so many questions but I am new to all of this.

Thanks xxx

we used to do ours in house but over the past few years we have hired out a local play area and it is so much easier as they provide all the food, Santa etc.

We provide a gift but they can be sourced easily and cheaply enough

We normally charge parents about £7 which they are more than happy to pay.

We do staff it but parents are welcome to stay if they want and many do - its a good way for them to meet their childs friends and family

Although we take from 2, most of ours are 3+ this year.

For us we do not ask parents - we have in the past, but we find the children are more settled without them. However your children are quite young still, so you may need to consider what is best for your 'current group'

We hold ours during session time, takes a bit of organisation as we ask all children. Letter to ofsted explaining what/when/how we cover the event complete with a copy of out RA for day.

Santa - one of our staff's parent.

Gift - book, usually from the book people as they have good offers + bubbles and fun size sweet.

food - we make a chart of what we would like, and parents pick an item to supply.

We usually have an entertainer - so a few warm up activities (listening games) entertainer, food then 'dancing' games. Santa arrives at the end. The parents arrive in time to take the children to see Santa themselves if they wish.