Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Help!

I wonder if anyone can help

I have a child at my setting who I am concerned about. He only comes for 3 hours per week but I have been observing him for a few months now, and something just isn't right. I can't put my finger on it, more of a gut feeling really. I have done lots of research, but can't place him neatly in a box for any condition I've heard of - which I'm sure is true of most children with some kind of SEN. I finally raised my concerns with Mum today, and she left in a state of shock, having had no cause for concern previously, and I feel terrible for causing such worry.

The areas which are concerning me:

He needs support moving around outside, and when negotiating a change in level, seems very uncertain, his foot hovering in the air. (Reminds me of when I first got glasses and couldn't judge distance for a while.) He always asks for help. This is just normal moving around outside, in and out of the sandpit ect, not unusual activities.

His hands are a bit flappy at his sides at times when moving around, almost as if he is trying to get his balance.

His communication seems stuck at the repetitive "what's that?" stage.

He will not look at anything we try to draw his attention to - he looks in any direction instead. There is little (if any) eye contact either.

The child is only 2 1/2, and has really made progress since starting with us, but I still think there is something. His mother said today that they have noticed his ankles turn in (not visible in clothes) and were a bit concerned. Not sure if this may be why he is a little unbalanced?

Anyway, I have referred her to her GP or health visitor as a first step, but she was so upset, I just hope I've done the right thing.

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks.

My advice would be

Give his mum lots of support and be available to talk lots even if it's going over the same ground repeatedly.