Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Non-profit Making

Hi,

This may seem like a silly question but how do you become a non-profit making pre-school?

I am opening mine in September. I have set up a business bank account (does this mean I cannot be non-profit making?)

I am not a committee run pre-school. I am running the pre-school by myself.

Looking forward to your advice!!

so is there any forms or anything you have to fill in or do you just say that you are a non-for profit making pre-school?

I will be putting everything back into pre-school after I have taken mine and other wages out and rental for the room.

Can I still be a non-profit making pre-school?

Sorry I am new to this so am not sure what I need to do. :o

actually that is a really good question.... we have by tradition been a not for profit pre-school because of the way we were set up and this is what we have declared to the charities commission and our accountant but i'm not sure that i have ever been asked to prove it!! if in doubt perhaps check with an accountant. (do you have a parent who might be able to advise on this ?)...sorry not a very helpful answer :o

This is an extensive area and one I would suggest you get advice on. Are you the owner of the business, i.e. have you set it up out of your own funds etc. Is the premises yours etc?

You can run a business as not for profit (the term is not for, rather than non profit making as the aim is to make a profit but use it for the good of the business). We run as a Community Interest Company. That is we are a company limited by guarantee, run by a board of directors, who are each responsible to the sum of £1 should the company fail. Any profit we make must be put back into the business to directly benefit the community we serve. We have to state our community interest i.e. to provide high quality affordable childcare.

If you are sole owner and not limited by guarantee, you could be liable for a large sum of money should things go wrong.