Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Dissertation

sienna

Hi everyone :(

I am in my final year of study on a BA Hons Early Childhood and Education Studies. At the moment I am doing my dissertation, the title is 'What learning is contained in a worksheet?' It's due in on the 29th April...Aargh!! :oxD:(

I have almost finished the analysis of my questionnaire responses and found that most people have responded with negative comments about worksheets. Some people have responded with positive comments but despite posing the question 'What learning is contained in a worksheet?' I have received few comments. I accept that this may be because there is limited learning in a worksheet, but would just like to 'double-check'. I have done a forum search and read tons of posts regarding worksheets but I have been unable to find much information regarding the learning content of a worksheet. HappyMaz was also very kind and shared her findings from her dissertation research which examined whether the use of worksheets was appropriate for use in pre-school.

I would be extremely grateful if you could try and answer the following question:

What learning is contained in a worksheet?

Please, please try to respond to this post. I am happy to share my findings once I have completed my dissertation.

Thanks

:(

Depends on the worksheet!

It can be used to reinforce a concept and I saw that being done in some schools in the states. The teacher stood at the front of the class, all the children had a pot of crayons and a worksheet and she asked them to colout the ball behind the dog red. Not much learning for the children but a way of en masse testing!

In fairness some children like them because it's what they use at home.

Still used frequently in settings because they're available in all the resource books.

Not much help I know but you should be using the information you've already got as more information now may put a different slant on your findings. :o