Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Eyfs

Guest poppysue

Guest poppysue

hi again,

i have been reading through some post's and im a bit worried now.

how im i going to cope with the new eyfs if other people out there can't. i read off a manager asking how to do the new eyfs as she has found it hard bringing it in to her setting.

im now thinking i wont be able to do it!

i have read through it and still find it hard to take in. as i was a nursery nurse and learnred the old way im not sure im going to do to well doing this as well as starting as a new childminder!! sorry i must sound very sad!! i no im more than capable of looking after this children but its just the work!!

sorry to ramble on!!

many thanks

lisa x

Hi Lisa

don't panic you will get the hang of it if you knew the old foundation stage and birth to 3 then you will get the hang of the EYFS it is more or less the same its just combined the 2 and then added or reworded a little. This forum is a god send and everyone is helpful and you get lots of tips. but you must remember that everyone works differently and what works for one may needed tweeking to suit you.

Salm

Hi Lisa,

Don't worry.

The EYFS can be really flexible. I don't use it to plan ahead. I just note the activities we have done and use the EYFS to show that those activities covered all of the area of learning over the week. Ofsted were perfectly happy with that.

I tried loads of different types of planning before I worked out what was right for me and my setting.

There are loads of different planning examples around so have a surf and see what you think will suit your style of childcare.

Keep asking for advice!

Your local Early Years Service should be able to give you some guidance too.

Alison

Hi - don't panic!

Ofsted are far more concerned about your interaction with the children than with your planning. I, too, write up the activities we've done and link them to the EYFS areas of learning afterwards.

Good Luck!

Nona