Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Im In Trouble

hi , im new to this and so glad i've found this site.ive been minding for 12 years.had my ofsted inspection wednesday.went ok.nerve wracking tho.dont know how they can say to just carry on as normal when they are in your face all the time.

i currently have 3 under 5's, 3 over 5's and one 8 year old. she misunderstood my numbers on the wednesday and called me thurs to say i was chilminding illegally as i'm over on my ratio after school.i became quite upset because it hasnt been intentional i have just been flexible and co-operative with my parents,as their work commitments are sometimes beyond their control, traffic etc.

she made me feel like a criminal.my grades on my check before this issue arose were "good". she explained that i should have notified ofsted each time i was over my numbers. i didnt do it purely because its the sake of an hour at the most and it wasnt all the time.

due to this she is grading me as inadequate.she told me i woud have to lose two of the children i mind, but one of them is over 8 so she isnt included in the criteria.so for the sake of an hour i have to now give notice to one of my childrens parents and cause disruption and upset to both parent and child all for the sake of an hour! is this taking the childs welfare into account??? i think not.instead of making me out to be a criminal, they need to concentrate on the kids whose welfare really is a concern! i have back up from all my parents over this as they agree that all i've done is be accommodating to their needs.

just wondered if anyone else has had a similar issue?? i am now ill through this and questioning whether i can carry on childminding as she has made me a wreck.

any feedback on this would be great.thanks