Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Stranger Danger

I'm looking at the element on the SEF about 'Teaching children to stay safe' and i know we don't do a 'stranger danger' element. I'd like to know what other settings do about teaching 'Stranger danger?'

Already we have a 'people who help us' theme every year when we talk about / dress up / role play police stations and the Police in general. I'm interested to know how other settings have moved their children away from "the police catch the bad people' notion that our children all have onto something more meaningful - or perhaps we don't need to?? I don't know

I think what I'm looking for is an idea about how to cover "what to do if you don't feel safe" (at home, at any public place). I'm very mindful about not creating fear in these very young children. This might include not only feeling unsafe about a person but also feeling unsafe if you get lost (in a shop for example). As an ex-reception teacher I am familiar with the police visiting the groups etc but I still think that is too hard for nursery aged children. I've considered the 3 little pigs story as a way in but it seems very abstract. Our keeping safe theme will also include aspects of road safety, keeping paths clear, not eating or drinking anything you find around (e.g berries, random liquid bottles etc). We've got an 'Ourselves' theme coming up and I'd like to include some of this in the theme.

Do we need to address this in nursery or are they too young?

How can we present the information without creating more problems that we solve (by suggesting that there are dangers that the children hadn't even thought of)

We've also got some children for whom the start in life wasn't ideal and i don't want to open a can of worms that is best left alone