Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

We're Going On A Bear Hunt!

Hi everyone!

Im a reception teacher, i've been a member of the forum for a while now and LOVE the site, but never posted anything on here before so hope i'm doing it right!

I'm just looking for ideas off anyone who can help........the dreaded Ofsted is looming at our school and Im trying to get more or less sorted so im not in complete panic mode when we get 'the call'!

The children in my class LOVE the story 'We're going on a bear hunt' so i thought this would be a good focus.

Does anyone have any ideas for activities I could set up relating to the book?? Any ideas for a carpet session? or anything you've tried which i could have a go at??

Any ideas would be great!

Thanks alot xxx

Hi Katie24, have you got access to an outdoor area? You could fill your tuffspots with snow, mud, water, make a cave, a home (and somewhere along the line think of how to do long swishy grass!). The children could draw maps of where they've been where they need to go next, write their version of the story.

Good luck with Ofsted.

We often act it out, indoors as well as outdoors.

Always do very 'wide' actions to it and over-emphasis on repetitions so everyone joins in.

You could have trays of mud and water etc. perhaps and children use a playmobil man so squelch through? On second thoughts - could be a bit messy if 'they' are in - you'd need to do that first in advance of the visit to see what works!

PS - love your avatar!

Hi

If you search u-tube for Michael Rosen there is a brilliant video of him telling the story. It is literally just him telling the story, no props and no fancy background but it is so effective. He is very expressive! I showed my class and they absolutely loved it and are always asking if they can see it again.

We also re-enacted the story in our PE lessons where the children had lots of space to do the big actions.