Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

The 'w' Word

HappyMaz

Hope you can help a jaded, well-behind-schedule researcher!

My research project for my degree is about the use of worksheets in pre-school settings. I'm trying to design a questionnaire which basically asks practitioners to select the arguments that support their own personal views and opinions about the use of worksheets - whether for or against.

I was wondering if you would be prepared to share any views (your own, or those of others!) either for or against? I don't need a huge list (five at most would be good), but if I could have a range of opinions I can choose the most popular to include on my questionnaire. So it doesn't matter if you're just repeating what someone else has already said - feel free to duplicate as necessary!

Thank you in advance - it will make it a bit more scientific than if I just write down what I think. :o

Maz

Hi Maz

My own personal stance is against worksheets Ifeel that

1/ staff use worksheets as an excuse not to put effort in to planning an activity

2/ worksheets are sometimes used as a easy way to map development

3/worksheets force children to comform to our views and ideas

4/ Worksheets stop a childs opportunity to explore and express themselves in a unique and individual way

These are my own personal views and as you can see I am totally against worksheets but accept the fact that others may feel differently.

Can make a child not want to draw as they feel they cannot do as well as the example shown so removing creativity

Can be used as a tool by adult to keep children sat down (seen this one in practice!!)

Child concentration, A child of this age is unable to sit for long to be involved in the task and quickly becomes bored

Development of other skills for holding a pencil etc are important, and may not yet be ready.

Inge

suppose you need a few positives too??

Do you need to clarify what you mean by "worksheet"?