Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Recruiting staff

Am I the only one who has problems recruiting staff!

I have heard other settings say they have had trouble getting good level 3s but I would have thought I might have had more joy recruiting a senior as you don't see senior positions come up very often!

Up until now I have been very lucky my staff have stayed with me a long time but they are starting to move on,

So I am pretty new to advertising it seems most of it is done online now

Ive tried Friday Ad and Indeed

Does anyone use agencies? Is that the way to go now?

• Like 1

I have used indeed and also during one recruitment I could afford (time wise) to support a newly qualified so contacted local college and explained asking if they would like to pass details onto potential applicants, basically head hunting. They did choose 2 students and we appointed one of them, this was last May though so after they had finished course, so timed well.

I'm trying to recruit 2 for the end of January, the thing that worries me most is that by the time I've run an adequate recruitment campaign from advert to interview the person you want then has to give a notice period (6 wks in some cases) I can see me being 2 staff down until after feb half term with me covering one but I can't be 2 and no ratio manoeuvre room either .......panic is setting in :,-(

Our LA has a childcare job site where we can advertise jobs with no charge and people looking for work can register their details. I have used job centre plus but ended up with loads of unqualified and unsuitable applicants.

• Like 2