Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

NEG

Hi I am an experienced Manager working for a new company. I am lucky enough to have an Administrator. When discussing invoices with her recently it looks as though the NEG given to the parents may be wrong. I have queried the company finance manager as to where the figure came from. His reply was that it was probably the hourly rate we charge as a nursery. Again I queried this as the NEG in this area is £3.81 ph and what we are giving does not, in any way, equate to this.

His reply was we have to provide 15 hours of care, which we are doing at our rate and not that at the rate we get from the government. I asked him was he saying that we don't give the parents the full amount we get from the govt. His reply was "in a word YES.....if the funding is more than our hourly rate we wouldn't give the parents the difference would we?"

I haven't answered him, as I have started to doubt myself......but my answer, in a word, would be "YES....we would give the parents the whole amount.....otherwise they aren't getting free childcare are they?"

Am I right.....or is he?

I have been managing for 14 years and my way is the way I have always done it; if a child is entitled to 15 hours then they get 15 x £3.81, even if our hourly rate is £3.70

Have I been doing it wrong all of these years.....or have I stumbled across a nest of vipers??