Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Tidying up

Hi everyone, I joined this site over ten years ago but haven't used it for 7 yrs! Guess what?? I'm back in Reception and I have to say I feel like an NQT again! I've been teaching for 18 yrs but this current class is proving to be a real challenge - it's their tidying up skills!!! Oh my gosh!!! They are non- existent! I've tired modelling: showing them exactly what to do, tidy up music, stopping their play and reminding them! I've tried humour, being cross etc etc! I know it's early days but they don't seem to be responding at all!!! Please help! If I can crack this one thing, or at least make some head way, I'll feel slightly less stressed!!!! Thanks guys!!! Zx

One of the things we do is take time to tidy up. When children are new/young/inexperienced they need to be shown in detail what to do. We do an area at a time with a few children, showing them what it means to tidy up. Can you put all these pencils in this pot, then it goes right here on the shelf. These dolls sleep in a bed with a blanket just like this. All these Duplo bricks go in this big box, let's fill it right up. Then X and Y can carry it and I'll show you where it lives. I'll admit we're a day nursery, so might have more adults to support children doing this. But I think it's really worthwhile taking as much time over tidying up as you would showing children how to manage snack time or how to sit and listen to a story. In the past, we have used a puppet that we call Tidy Up Tyler who comes and oversees tidy up time. He's been 'on holiday' (in the cupboard!) for a while but has just sent the children a post card as he's on his way back...

• Like 2

Thank u! I agree completely! I've been trying to do as you say, I find it's not so much the ability, it's their willingness! When there's 30 children there are lots of avoidance tactics! I need ways of encouraging them! I like the puppet idea! X