Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nappy changing policy

Hi,

I know this has been covered in other posts after doing a search, but I just wanted to do a quick straw poll on here, if that's ok?

I'm on the committee of our playgroup (I'm also a nursery nurse) and my big passion is the key person system. Our nappy changing policy has that nappies are changed by key person/back up key person as per PLA policy.

However, I KNOW this doesn't happen and the argument is that some of the younger children (we take them from 2) would get too attached and wouldn't like it when the back up person does it, so one person doing all nappies each day is a far better system.

I've searched the EYFS briefly (!) for the actual part where it says about personal care routines and haven't found it, so is it still there?

How many of you actually do key person nappy changes or do you still have a nappy rota? Has anyone been pulled up by Ofsted for having a nappy rota?

We are reviewing our policy this week, so just wanted a bit of info on what others are doing in various settings.

Thanks!

RB x

In my setting Key persons/ back up key person change their children's nappies during the session unless a child asks for someone else. Every child must have their nappy changed within each session....my staff added this to our policy.

I did a placement for my EYPS in a full day care setting where a member of the team gloved up and wore an apron whilst she changed each child in turn. I found this quite impersonal as she was quite clearly not interacting with every child during what I consider to be a nurturing care experience....she was quite bored quite quickly and churned children out like a sausage factory.

Nappy changing should be and is an important part of bonding between a key person and a child providing opportunities to support communication and language, for singing, blowing raspberries on tummies, tickling.....a fun experience rather than a laborious task.